Service • Trust • Value • Care • Understanding

For general enquiries call 01202 367 307

FC Douch Logo

Independent Funeral Directors
Serving Dorset for over 100 years

Sherborne CC - Prem winners.Sherborne Cricket Club were presented with the Dorset Funeral Plan Premier League winners’ trophy at the annual presentation evening.

The event held at Wimborne and Colehill CC heard that the champions held off the strong challenge from the most successful team of the last decade, Poole Town, who finished runners-up.

Merrick Wilkinson, who along with league chairman John Ridout, announced the winners, said: “In their first year back in the Premier League since 2007, the champions recruited wisely to boost an already talented squad.

Sherborne and Poole Town finished with an almost identical playing record, so bonus points proved decisive.”
Nick Douch from sponsors The Dorset Funeral Plan presented the awards and said: “We’re proud to continue to sponsor Saturday cricket in Dorset.

“There are seven highly competitive leagues, which are played in a great spirit. I’d like to congratulate all the winners.”

Shillingstone Is Div 1 winners and the Fair Play award (l-r) Bob Edwards, Nick Douch from sponsors The Dorset Funeral Plan, Roy Haycock, Chris Cole, Ian PaulleyIn Division 1 Shillingstone took the league title, winning 14 games and holding off the challenge from runners-up Bere Regis.

Christchurch, Div 2 champs, Nick Douch from sponsors, The Dorset Funeral Plan, presents the award to (l-r) Nick Marsh and James Ragettli-CrossChristchurch will be playing Division 1 cricket next season after winning the Division 2 title, beating Cerne Valley into second place.

Stalbridge IIs Div 3 winners.In Division 3, Stalbridge IIs topped the table, holding off the strong challenge from Ashmore.

Shillingstone IIs Div 4 champs.The Division 4 title was a thrilling contest between Shillingstone IIs and Sherborne IIs, with both teams winning 13 games. In the end Shillingstone took the title by just two points.

Charlton Down CC Div 5 winners receive the trophy from Nicj Douch from sponsors, The Dorset Funeral Plan (l-r) Pete Tucker, Matt Stevens, Jae Miller, Richard FagenceCharlton Down are going up after winning the Division 5 crown, beating off Puddletown.

Bere Regis IIs Div 6 champs.And Bere Regis IIs held off the challenge from Witchampton IIs to take the Division 6 title.

Groundsman of the Year awardThere were several other awards presented including Groundsman of the Year, which went to the team from Martinstown.

The Team of the Year awardThe Team of the Year award was shared between Stalbridge IIs and Charlton Down although Sherborne and Bere Regis IIs also came close.

Angie Brown receives the performance of the year award on behalf of her son James who scored 162no for Broadstone vs Stalbridge.The performance of the year was won by Broadstone’s James Brown whose score of 162no in the Premier League saw off some stiff competition. This came from Mike Collinge of Cerne Valley Who took 7-7, Compton House’s Mike Harper who scored 158no and Karl Jones of Kingston Lacy who took 8-13.

The Dorset Association of Cricket Officers (DACO) Fair Play awards were presented by Merrick Wilkinson who said: “The spirit of cricket can be summed up in one word: ‘respect’.”

Angie Brown from Broadstone CC receives the Fair Play award from Merrick Wilkinson, chairman of Dorset UmpiresHe said that the clear winner of the award this year in the Premier League was Broadstone and the Division 1 winner was Shillingstone.

The Dorset Cricket Board Young Player of the Year award was presented by Julian Shackleton who said: “Of the names on the trophy, ten have gone on to play Minor Counties cricket.”

DCC Player of the season, bowler Josh Richardson being presented the award by Julian ShackletonHe then presented the award to young bowler Josh Richardson.

Winners and runners-up in the Dorset Funeral Plan leagues

Premier League:
Poole Town

Division 1
Bere Regis

Division 2
Cerne Valley

Division 3
Stalbridge II

Division 4
Shillingstone II
Sherborne II

Division 5
Charlton Down

Division 6
Bere Regis II
Witchampton II